I’m in The Game

That was “The Game”, not “The Games”, in case you misunderstood.

You know The Game, don’t you? 

The one where you try to use up all the zucchini you have, preferably finding as many varied recipes as possible so that your family doesn’t have to eat plain old boiled zucchini every single night.

And you don’t have to waste any precious zucchini.

Prior to this year, I was really just a spectator in this game.  I’d laugh politely when the topic rolled around to this, pretending I knew what I was talking about.  But now that we have joined a CSA (community supported agriculture) farm, we have an abundance of vegetables.  Including zucchini.

So in the interest of helping out my fellow players, here is one of my favorite zucchini recipes:

Zucchini Casserole

4-5 cups zucchini, cut into 1 inch cubes

1 tsp. salt

dash pepper

2 T butter

1 small onion, finely chopped

1/2 cup crushed ritz crackers

1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese

Parboil squash for about 5 minutes (you can also use yellow squash instead of or in addition to the zucchini).  Place into a buttered casserole dish.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Add onion.  Sprinkle the crushed crackers over the top, and then sprinkle the cheese.  Dot with butter.  Bake at 375 degrees for 25-30 minutes. 

So yummy.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “I’m in The Game

  1. I like to saute mine in butter with onions, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I miss zucchini and tomatoes most. I’ll have to hit the farmers market this week.

  2. Do you need to like zuccini for some of those recipes? I am the only one in my house and I could take it or leave it. Most times I leave it. Do your kids really eat it and like it too?? If so, wow you are really good! Good luck with finding more recipes to use up all the veggies.

  3. Pingback: blueberry-lemon zucchini loaf « Led By The Shepherd

Leave a Reply

