A Timely Poem

As I’m packing, I’m throwing giving stuff away and throwing out a lot.  I ran across the following poem in a book I’m reading – Improving Your Serve by Chuck Swindoll.  (The book is fabulous, by the way, and I highly recommend it!!).  It’s a reminder that I’m to be storing up treasures in heaven, not here in this life (Matthew 6:19):

One by one He took them from me

All the things I valued most;

‘Til I was empty-handed,

Every glittering toy was lost.

And I walked earth’s highways, grieving,

In my rags and poverty.

Until I heard His voice inviting,

“Lift those empty hands to Me!”

Then I turned my hands toward heaven,

And He filled them with a store

Of His own transcendent riches,

‘Til they could contain no more.

And at last I comprehended

With my stupid mind, and dull,

That God cannot pour His riches

Into hands already full.

-Source Unknown

Does this resonate with you like it did me today?  Care to share?

 

5 thoughts on “A Timely Poem

  1. Thank you for sharing this- it reminds me of the old-time Fundy hymns my grandmother used to sing. Trying ever so hard to manage it all myself, it’s good to remember that, daily, I need to empty my hands and receive His grace.

  2. Thanks for the comment… hope you come back! Even today I have a different perspective on the poem. At first I thought of the stuff I was packing – the tangibles. But now I’m thinking more about the intangible stuff I hang on to. Worry, anger, pride, etc. I think it’s THOSE things also that fill us up so much that we don’t have room for the intangibles that God wants to give us. Like His peace, joy, hope, love, etc.

    Have a blessed day!
    Stephanie

  3. Here you are working to unload stuff and I hand you two full bags of clothes. Please only pull out what you can use and pass the rest back. I’ll see if someone else can use the rest:) Happy packing! I can take Derek off your hands Monday if you like?

  4. Hi Stephanie,
    Thanks for coming back to visit me at Recognize & Remember. I posted this poem on January 7, 2008 on my bloghttp://sandrajo.wordpress.com/2008/01/07/treasures/ — it was given to me years ago and I have kept it in my Bible since then. Also, the author of the poem is Martha Snell Nicholson – if you want to learn more about her I have a link to information about her off of my site.

  5. Steph,

    It reminds me of when we packed and went through the same process. It makes me want to go and haul out stuff we don’t use or need! The poem reminded me again that stuff is stuff–Empty hands held high, such a small sacrifice—-That is what and where I want to be. Thanks

    Heather

Leave a Reply

