TTAH Tuesday – Better yet, tell a story…

Good morning!

My tip for today is read to your kids.  Any and every chance you get.  My kids love it and will happily exchange TV for a book.  Did I mention I’m a book person??  We even have quite a few books that I saved from when I was a kid.  We love them, and keep on taping them just to keep them together. 

But let’s get on to the point of this post…

Better yet, tell a story.  My kids LOVE it when Dave or I either make up a story or tell about something that happened to us in story-form.  When we make up a story, we ask them to come up with a character (e.g., frog, dog, bird, etc.) and an activity (e.g., biking, swimming, etc.).  Anything goes.  The sillier the better.  For older kids, have them make up part of the story themselves.  I’m not too good at voices, but Dave is, and the kids think it’s also extra special when he adds silly voices to the characters.  It even makes me laugh, too.

And they enjoy hearing about funny things that have happened to us.  Dig into the recesses of your mind.  What was your most embarrassing moment?  What is your favorite childhood memory?  Who was your best friend as a child?  What was your favorite pet as a child and why?  Tell them stories about these things and anything else you can think of. 

My kids also like to hear about big events in our lives – our wedding, when we moved into our current house, the events surrounding their births (of course I edit out the really scary parts like the screaming and incredible pain).  🙂

So get your creative juices flowing today and start talking!  Sometimes it’s hard to get started, but once you do your kids will enjoy every minute of it!

Leave a Reply

