“Non-obligated”? Hmmm, not exactly…

Yay!  We’ve finally got a buyer for our house and we’ve got a contract to buy another.  It’s a huge understatement to say that I am excited.

Last night, we had a meeting with the bank mortgage guy.  I left the meeting feeling, well, basically, useless.

You see, in bank terms, I am a “non-obligated borrower”??  What?  In layman’s terms, I don’t bring in any income and so they really don’t acknowledge my existence.  I understand it from their perspective, really I do.  I was still surprised that they didn’t even need my signature –  Not even once.  Well, I guess they did bestow on me a title.  But non-obligated?  I don’t think so.

It was kind of a blow to me.  Being the independent and educated person I am, and the fact that up until a few years ago I was gainfully employed and probably could have supported my family if necessary, I left feeling a little bit hurt.  And annoyed.  And feeling useless.

In my heart of hearts I know that my “work” now – my family – is my calling from God, at least for now.  I know that even though I am not paid for “my work”, it is priceless.  I know that there is no place I’d rather be than giving my 100% to them.  I know that the time I’m spending with my kids has eternal impact.  I know that my family could not operate the way we do without my efforts at home.

And to put it bluntly, I am more than a little bit obligated to these people that God has chosen to bless me with. 

So regardless of my status at the bank, I am choosing to remember that God led me here, and he desires that I work at it with my whole heart.  I am valuable to Him and to my family.  And that’s all that matters!

Matthew 6:19-21

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Have you ever felt devalued by our society?  What verse or verses helped you put it into perspective?

3 thoughts on ““Non-obligated”? Hmmm, not exactly…

  1. I try to avoid society if I can. I know that sounds pretty horrible, but as soon as I check society out, I start to feel ‘not enough’. That Matthew passage is wonderful.

    Check out this article. Pretty interesting stuff about what at stay home mama’s time is worth. Obviously only some of the parts of our job is there, but it’s fun to think about. Now if I could only find a $131,000 job when my kiddos are bigger so that I can continue earning my keep… http://www.salary.com/aboutus/layoutscripts/abtl_default.asp?tab=abt&cat=cat012&ser=ser041&part=Par499

    I am taking my 10 minute blog check, and you and Melanie have both written good ones today. So as I said to her…

    Amen. And amen again.

  2. drawingcloser

    Pamela,
    Doesn’t sound that horrible to me. We are commanded in the Bible to not be conformed to this world but to be transformed by the renewing of our minds, right?? And that sounds like exactly what you’re doing.

    Thanks for the link, too… very interesting. I remember seeing something like that a few years ago.

    Have a great weekend!
    Steph

Leave a comment