A Bright Spot

Since I’ve been reading “The Five Love Languages of Children”, I’ve been thinking a lot about my kids’ primary love languages.  And I’ve also been thinking about whether or not I’ve been communicating my love to them in their language.

When I drop my daughter off at school every morning, we have a special little ritual.  We pray in the van first.  Then we get out, I walk her to the door, give her a kiss, and say goodbye.  Then I go back to the van and get in.  Then I look out my window, and she looks out the school door window.  Then we point at ourselves, cross our arms over our chests, and then point at each other.  I’m pretty sure this is not the correct sign language for “I love you,” but that’s what it means to us. 

She has even gotten creative with it.  I signed once that I love her and she signed back and then held up two fingers.  I understood – it meant “I love you too!” 

I have to tell you that this is a bright spot in my days.  Some mornings are difficult – it feels like pulling teeth to get everyone ready and in the car.  But even in the midst of that, our signal is strong and steady.  And so is our love.

I will remember these mornings forever.  And I hope she will, too.   And I will keep trying to communicate my love to my kids in ways that are special to them.

Does your family have any unique or special ways in which you communicate your love to each other?

One thought on “A Bright Spot

  1. Post-it notes. My sister Sarah and I will plaster one another’s walls with post-it notes, leaving one another silly little messages. It’s our way of letting the each other know that we’re thinking about one another, and that we love one another.

Leave a Reply

