Cleaning out the junk

Hi everybody!  It feels like forever since I’ve posted anything.  We’ve had a busy couple of weeks, including one child with bronchitis, two with strep throat, 4 doctor’s appointments, a hubby in China for 6 days, shopping for a new car, going to an open house, etc., etc.

And, my latest creative project… cleaning out, reorganizing, and redecorating our study.  Our study is the room in our house that collects all the junk.  All the stuff we don’t know what to do with.  All the stuff we know needs to be taken care of but don’t have the time for right now.  So, it is usually always, a disaster.  A friend of mine who has much more decorating skill than me, in the most diplomatic way possible, told me that if we want to sell our house I needed to clean this room.  She didn’t say it like that, and believe me, I wasn’t offended.  She was right.  🙂

So while my husband was gone, I used the time after the kids went to bed to go through all the piles.  I threw out the garbage, made a garage sale pile, made a pile to go to salvation army, and filed all the papers that needed to be filed.  I moved stuff around.  I moved one desk out of the room (there were two – one for me and one for my husband), bought a new chair and lamp, and cleaned.  I wanted to have it all done before he came back from his trip, but unfortunately there were a couple of things I needed his help with.  But all in all, it looks great.  And it makes me feel better.  A few weeks ago I was completely overwhelmed by the mess in this room.  Every time I looked at it I felt kind of paralyzed – like I didn’t want to do anything about it because it was too big to handle.  But now I feel more organized, lighter, happier.  I feel productive and ready to work on another project. 

 You know what, the mess in that room was weighing me down and choking me.  Now I’m going to make an analogy.  Stick with me on this. 

I recently read again Jesus’ parable in Luke 8:1-15.  Verse 14 has stuck with me:  “The seed that fell among thorns stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures, and they do not mature.”

In this parable, the seed is the word of God.

Do you have any part of your life that collects junk (or is junk)?  Is it weighing you down spiritually and making you stagnate?  Are you pursuing the wrong things?  Are you choking out the good and godly things God has for you by worrying about life, riches, and pleasures?  I know there are times in my life that I have focused on these things and have not completely trusted in God to provide them for me.   At those times I’ve been weighed down – choked by the pressures of life.

How would we feel if we cleaned up those areas of our lives?  If we spent some time and effort to first surrender to God, then to clean, reorganize, reprioritize, and make room for new (God’s?) stuff?  I’m pretty sure we’d feel lighter, more joyful, more peaceful, and just plain better.  We’d probably be ready to take on the next of God’s assignments for us. 

Your turn:  Do you have any cleaning projects you need to tackle?  Spiritual or otherwise?

Leave a Reply

