Not Guilty…

OK, fellow moms, this one’s for you!

In my last post I touched on an example of mommy guilt.  One thing I’ve learned from being a mom is that it can be fraught with guilt.  Being a true Type-A personality (overachiever / perfectionist), when I make mistakes, I tend to feel like a failure.  And failing at parenting is something that would weigh heavily on anyone.  Hence, a condition I call “mommy guilt”.

I read a fabulous book recently called Motherhood:  The Guilt That Keeps on Giving by Julie Barnhill.  It is such a great book – I’d recommend it to all moms. 

Anyways, in the preface to the book, she suggests that the reader sit down and make a list of all the things you do not feel guilty about as a mom.  WOW.  This was way harder than I thought it was going to be!  My mind is so programmed to focus on the negatives and possible solutions that I had a hard time (at first) thinking of the things I do right.  But in the end, it was so worth it!

So I’m challenging you, fellow moms, to sit down and write out your own list.  What do you NOT feel guilty about?  What are you doing right?

I wanted to share a couple of items from my list in order to help you get started (I won’t bore you with the explanations behind them).  I don’t feel guilty for:

  • being ruthless about “schedule” when my kids were infants
  • leaving my career to be at home with them
  • letting them “cry it out” and thus helping to train them to fall asleep on their own
  • taking them to church every week
  • enforcing an 8:00 pm bedtime
  • leaving them with Dad to go to MOPS
  • limiting what they watch on TV (i.e. saying no to SpongeBob Squarepants!)
  • not sending my kids to preschool

Go to it, ladies!  And if you have a minute, come back and share with me at least one of the items from your list!  Let’s learn about each other and from each other!

One thought on “Not Guilty…

  1. I don’t regret letting them work out their own squabbles at times. I’m glad I pray for them before they get out of the car to go to school.
    I’m glad they have non-christian friends.
    I love reading stories most nights before they go to bed.
    I’m confident that not overbooking our calendar is healthy emotionally for all of us.

Leave a Reply

