Attached

I am diabetic and have been since the age of 10.  I have had an insulin pump since Jan. 2000.  It is attached to me 24/7 with the exception of showers and swimming.

I’ve had people ask me before what it’s like to be “attached” to something like that all the time.  The misconception is that it is a bad thing, that it is confining, that it limits my activities.

The fact is that my “attachment” means freedom to me.  Yes, I have to be careful that I don’t drop it (especially in the bathroom, if you know what I mean), I have to change the infusion site every three days, I sometimes have to explain to people that I’m not wearing a pager or cell phone when they hear it beeping, and I have to roll over it when I’m sleeping.  But guess what, it’s way better than having to have four insulin injections a day!  It gives me the freedom to:

  • eat what I want, when I want
  • not carry around insulin and syringes everywhere
  • have better control of my blood glucose levels… which will decrease complications in the future and hopefully help me live longer
  • decrease my insulin intake during exercise so that I don’t have an insulin reaction
  • get through three pregnancies without trouble!

 Being attached to an insulin pump is a great analogy to being attached to Jesus Christ!

Jesus told his followers in John 15:5 “I am the vine; you are the branches.  If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

Many unbelievers think that Christianity is much about following a set of rules – don’t do this and don’t do that.  It follows, then, that they think Christianity will limit their freedom.  Being attached to Christ, however, is the ultimate freedom!  Being attached to Christ allows me to:

  • be who I am and experience His joy
  • live a less complicated and more peaceful life
  • know that I will live eternally with Him (John 14:6, “I am the way, the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.”)
  • decrease the amount of “trouble” I could cause in my own life by trying to live a more holy life
  • rely on God’s strength to get through trials

I am fully convinced of the benefits of using an insulin pump for diabetics.  It has literally changed my life.

I am also fully convinced of the benefits of being attached to Jesus Christ.  That has changed my life even more!

How has your relationship with Jesus changed your life?

Leave a Reply

