What a difference 10 years makes!

This past October, Dave and I celebrated our 10th anniversary.  Considering the statistics on marriage these days, to be happily married after 10 years is an awesome gift from God. 

The 10 years we’ve been married have brought about a lot of changes… in each of us and our marriage.  Here are the top ten – in no particular order!

Ten years ago:

  1. I wasn’t sure I wanted kids!  Look at me now… with three of them and loving being a mom!
  2. I never intended to be a stay-at-home-mom.  Now I am and have never regretted leaving my job for one minute.  What greater responsibility (and job) is there than to raise your children?
  3. We didn’t know how children would change our lives!  As newlyweds, we slept in on Saturdays, we went out for dinner whenever and wherever we wanted (even QUIET restaurants), we left the house without planning ahead, and we pretty much always got a good night’s sleep.  Obviously things are different now.   But we also didn’t know the excitement of a first word, first step, or first day of school.  We didn’t know the love we could have for a little person with a sticky face!  I wouldn’t go back for anything!
  4. We spent a lot less money on photo developing (and on groceries, presents, candy, etc.).
  5. I thought Dave and I would be equal partners in everything (i.e., laundry, washing dishes, cooking, diapering, etc.).  Well, we are certainly partners, but in reality things are more complicated than an equal division of labor.  In a good marriage, there is a lot of give and take.  You step up in places your partner can’t, and vice versa.  Your strengths and weaknesses complement one another, and you find that serving your partner is the glue that keeps you together.
  6. I didn’t like the word submission.  In fact, I thought it an antiquated idea from the 1950’s.  Now, however, I realize that I misunderstood it.  I knew a wordly version of submission, not the submission God expects from me.  Now I gladly work at submitting to my husband’s God-given role as leader of our family every day.
  7. I didn’t really know the amazing man that Dave is.  Now I see it… and appreciate it.  The way he loves me.  The way he loves our children.  The way he plays with them.  The way he supports us and is there when we need him.  The dedicated and brilliant employee that he is at work.  The leader of our family.  I am blessed.
  8. We didn’t have personal relationships with Jesus Christ.  We both came from religious homes… and I even “got saved” as a young teen.  However, I was not living for Christ and neither was Dave.  But by the grace of God, He led us to one another… and to Him.  Thank you Jesus that we are saved, that we are part of your family, and that we can, and will, teach our children about you.
  9. We hadn’t experienced much difficulty in our lives.  Since then we have had some relatively difficult times – loss of a parent, a miscarriage, a baby in intensive care – and all I can say is that I am glad I had both my faith and Dave during those times.
  10. We loved each other and thought we would be together forever.  Well, ok, I guess some things never change!

 How have you been blessed by your marriage?

2 thoughts on “What a difference 10 years makes!

  1. Steph,

    What a great post – I kept nodding and smiling in agreeance as I read each one.

    I am so grateful for my husband too, as well as the 13 1/2 years we have spent together so far!

  2. Hi I saw your comments on Melissa’s blog the other day..anyway saw this post Congrat’s on 10 yrs together…we are heading toward the big “29” this April 21… I created a similiar list like yours when we hit 25…can’t lay my hands on it right now..but I did write something the other day on the blog pertaining to how we keep the “like” in our relationship…if you’re interested, here’s the link to it:

    http://hearttoheart.wordpress.com/2008/01/02/we-still-like-each-other-after-28-years/

    one of the biggest “tools” God has used to keep our relationship healthy has been older couples…I am thankful every day for my wife…

Leave a Reply

