Looking forward to…

Eating!

I’m feeling silly today, so I’m going to list the top 10 things I’m looking forward to eating over the holidays.  I know, I know, Christmas is not about the eating.  But for some reason, there is a certain connection between celebrating Christmas and eating all sorts of yummy (and bad for me) stuff.  So here it goes:

  1. Cookies (I’ll just leave this as one category – but we will make sugar cookie cutouts, molasses cookies, peanut butter balls, etc.)
  2. Egg puff and cinnamon rolls (our usual Christmas breakfast).  Very easy, but I don’t usually make it except for special occasions.
  3. Spinach & artichoke dip – again, usually for special occasions because it has so many calories!!
  4. Cheese danish.  Oh my goodness… crescent rolls, cream cheese, sugar, butter.  Need I say more??
  5. Monkey bread – definitely need to invite another family over to share this or take it to church or something because we’d all be in sugar shock if we ate it ourselves.
  6. Reuben dip – a recipe from my friend Jessica.  Yummy.  Even my husband likes it (who won’t usually touch sauerkraut).
  7. Pecan pie.  Usually made by my sister Laurie.  Did you know pecan pie has like 550 calories per slice?
  8. Reese’s peanut butter Christmas tree.  I love peanut butter and chocolate.  These are definitely better than a regular peanut butter cup because the peanut butter to chocolate ratio is higher.
  9. Lindt truffles.  Expensive, but worth it.
  10. German pancakes.  Haven’t had any in a while – the kids usually complain but I love them.

If you didn’t know it, I am on a diet!  I’ve lost almost twelve pounds since September.  What are the chances I won’t gain them back in the week between Christmas and New Year’s??

What Christmas treats are you looking forward to?

Leave a Reply

